Truism

Last Thursday, I found myself strolling around a bookstore looking for the next book that I’ll be busy with for the next month. I was drowning with all the books I wish I could buy and read! Oh books, why is it that I only fell in love with you this college? But you know what they say, better late than never! (Now, I don’t really know if that made any sense) Anyway, so there it was another New York Times best-selling author got me paying and excited.

I already read the first four chapters and I found myself questioning, evaluating and pondering on my own life. The book even has a guide at the end of it to help you with the process. I tried to answer it a while ago but I found myself closing the book and eating instead. It’s not that I find it boring or offensive, it’s just that I don’t know what to write. Well, I did manage to write a few but I questioned myself if I’m just writing those down just to fill it up with something. Not really taking into heart whatever I’m writing. It might not be the case, but just for today, I don’t think I’m in the right feel to answer it.

It’s not the first time I’ve encountered these questions. I even posted some of it in my blog. And when you’ve read a number of Christian books some of it will become very familiar. Cliche as some would say, but believe me, when things get rough we tend to forget even the most trivial truths we already know. Take for example the trivial thing that everyone is unique. How often do we marvel at this very simple yet exquisite truth?

In their book Behavioral Genetics, a team of scientists declare:

Each of us has the capacity to generate 103000 eggs or sperm with unique sets of genes. If we consider 103000 possible eggs being generated by an individual woman and the same number of sperm being generated by an individual man, the likelihood of anyone else with your set of genes in the past or in the future becomes infinitesimal.

And I’m sure even your smartest calculator’s going to have a bit of a mathematical error there. or okay maybe you’ll insist on it having lots of zeroes and all, but can you please take a moment to see how amazingly unique every single one of the 7,103,754,401 people in this planet (it keeps on changing so please refer to http://www.prb.org) is? And we’re only talking about the set of genes here. We haven’t even started on the way you laugh, cry, speak, walk, dance, sleep, eat, smile, sing, or to put it simply, the way you do everything. I almost cried when I realized this. Being overwhelm by how much incredible our Creator is, spending such time and love just to make sure everyone’s going to be unique. Just to make sure everyone’s going to have a different story. And in every story lies a part of Him that He wants each and every one of us to tell. Everyone’s got a part and He’s got us backed up. Because He’s so eager to see that day when we finally see how amazing He is for creating us exactly like this.

While I was reading Exodus, I skipped a lot of chapters because it only talked about how the altars should be built and some more other technical stuff. I flipped through the pages because I thought, “How can these pages speak to me right now? All of these are just instructions to the builders or it may be useful to some other people but not to me“. But as I was being amazed by a simple truth I remembered those times, and thought, if God was so careful with those instructions, and was so precise and O.C. (if I may add) with all those things, how much more was He like when He was forming us in our mother’s womb. Gosh, He must love us a looooot. And I can’t stress it enough, because words will never be enough to describe it. That’s just how great it is. How great He is.

We get so captivated by breathtaking scenes and wildlife or maybe even some visual effects or stunning works of art, but it is very often that we get mesmerize by our own existence, by our own lives. Is it sinking in now? The thought that you just breathed through another second of your life or how you are able to read this and process what’s it about? Or that you are alive and with a purpose only you can serve? Gosh, overwhelming truths, I know. But let’s take a moment to breathe and let that truth simmer for a bit.

Remember, God planned and packed you on purpose for his purpose. “It is God himself who has made us what we are and given us new lives from Christ Jesus; and long ages ago he planned that we should spend these lives in helping others” (Eph. 2:10 TLB)

Cure for the Common Life, Max Lucado

Now all we have to do is find that. And an easy journey is not guaranteed. There will be bumps along the road, some cracks even. But it doesn’t change the fact of it all. It doesn’t change Him at all. I may say that I’m still not sure about the answers, but I know it’s there. All I have to do is keep on walking and journeying with Him. Keep my eyes fixed. And along the way, we’ll see, we’ll see what’s in store for us. And a whole lot of other things. So let’s keep on finding out.

Leave a Reply

